Working offline

From Kommunicera Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Sometimes you might need to work without an Internet connection, or

you might have a slow connection, or

plan to continue to work on your checked out copy, when you know the server will be shut down for maintenance or backup.

To be able to do that, you will need to make the necessary resources – translation memories or term bases – available for offline use (download them from the server) with the command Synchronize offline.

How to do it:

1. Start by synchronizing your project.

2. Then go to Translation memories.

3. Right-click on the TM you want to use offline and choose Synchronize offline. Make sure the TM has the same setting for Type as before (Working, Master or none). As default, we always use the TM named projectTM followed by the project number as Working.

4. Repeat step 3 for each of the assigned TMs (assigned = the checkbox in the first column is checked).

5. Then go to Term bases.

6. Right-click on the term base you want to use offline and choose Synchronize offline.

7. Repeat step 6 for each of the assigned term bases.


  • How long this step takes, depends on the size of the resources and the speed and performance of your connection.
  • Before running QA, make sure to go online and synchronize the project, to receive the latest updates in the TM and TB and to be able to use the correct light resources (like the QA settings) for the project!
  • If you receive a warning that your translation could not be added to the translation memory, please check the setting in the column Type. As default, we always use the TM named projectTM... as Working. The other TMs are read-only.
  • The Working (primary) translation memory is the one where memoQ stores your newly confirmed segments, using all other translation memories only for retrieving existing information.


Please see the following sections in the memoQ Help for more information and tips and tricks:

"Import and export resources for offline work"

"Work in an online project"

and also on this wiki:

Switching_off_Automatic_synchronization